26
Jul
10

Why do republicans hate america?

I’m not a democrat, but I support democrats because there’s no serious alternative, and hasn’t been for some time.  Libertarians are idiots, and they don’t have the numbers to do anything more than boost Glen Beck’s ratings.  The Green party isn’t a serious political party in this country, and won’t be anytime soon.  Both, however, should be taken more seriously than the Republicans.  Given the demonstrably bad results coming from republican policies over the past few decades, I think I could make a stronger case for voting for al-qaeda before supporting anyone running as a republican.  Since I don’t hate America, I wouldn’t seriously vote for either.  I do, however, hate Americans.  Here’s why.

The notion that across-the-board tax cuts improve the economy has long been seen by economists as idiotic, but the US voting public disagrees.  Free lunch?  Yes, please.

Bill Clinton left the country with economic surpluses, and then GW Bush came into office and squandered them and left the country with the biggest economic crisis since the great depression.  So, who do Americans trust to handle the economy?  Republicans.

Barack Obama inherited a host of problems too numerous to list, from an administration so widely derided across the globe that it challenged even the cartoonish caracature of itself that also spanned the globe.  Despite the poor starting position he inherited, Obama promised to work in a bipartisan manner to solve the nation’s ills, and made legislative and rhetorical gesture after gesture to reach out to the republicans, even buying into the dumbest of their dumb ideas in the hopes of gaining some across-the-aisle support.  Despite historically-large majorities in both houses, he refused to enact the democrats’ pet projects, hoping to attract republican support for his policies by pre-emptively conceding ground and pretending that it makes sense to include the silly ideas that the opposition claims to support.  Meanwhile, the republicans have uniformly voted against almost everything in another historic first.  So, who are American voters poised to support in the coming election?  Republicans.

Over at the Financial Times today, Martin Wolf has an intriguing column on the centerpiece of the republican political platform for the past 40 years – the fictional/political position known as “supply-side economics.”  That’s the same policy that George H.W. Bush called “voodoo economics,” back before he signed on as Reagan’s side-kick and then followed him as head Voodoo Chieftain.

Given all the recent hand-wringing coming from the conservative press over the newly-discovered problem of deficits, along with all the sound and fury they’ve added over allowing Bush’s anti-american tax-cuts to end, I find the following passage from Wolf’s article worth repeating:

Greg Mankiw, no less, chairman of the Council of Economic Advisers under George W. Bush, has responded to the view that broad-based tax cuts would pay for themselves, as follows: “I did not find such a claim credible, based on the available evidence. I never have, and I still don’t.” Indeed, he has referred to those who believe this as “charlatans and cranks”. Those are his words, not mine, though I agree. They apply, in force, to contemporary Republicans, alas,

Since the fiscal theory of supply-side economics did not work, the tax-cutting eras of Ronald Reagan and George H. Bush and again of George W. Bush saw very substantial rises in ratios of federal debt to gross domestic product. Under Reagan and the first Bush, the ratio of public debt to GDP went from 33 per cent to 64 per cent. It fell to 57 per cent under Bill Clinton. It then rose to 69 per cent under the second George Bush. Equally, tax cuts in the era of George W. Bush, wars and the economic crisis account for almost all the dire fiscal outlook for the next ten years (see the Center on Budget and Policy Priorities).

Those are facts, and you’d think they would have some persuasive force, right?  So who are Americans going to reward in the upcoming elections?  The Libertarians like Rand Paul who think business owners should be allowed to exclude black people?  Maybe.  The nut-job tea partiers who think Obama is a Kenyan spy?  Hopefully not, but I wouldn’t rule it out.  The weak-willed democrats who are trying to address problems seriously while at the same time hoping to appear to believe all of the stupid shit that most Americans believe?  Almost certainly not.

How about those republicans promising more tax cuts to solve our problems, along with a repeal of all the things that Obama has done to destroy the country?  Did I hear someone say “Free Lunch”?  Yes, please.

Again, I’m not saying I support them, but at least al-qaeda is up front about what they’re trying to do.

2 Responses to “Why do republicans hate america?”


  1. 1 Joe
    July 28, 2010 at 5:50 pm

    I suggest taking some political science courses at CR because your understanding of politics is very basic. Anyone with any real understanding on how this country operates wouldn’t bring up things like “Bill Clinton left this country with a surplus”. Sorry buddy but that doesn’t mean anything. Bill Clinton’s surplus could have been the result of Jimmy Carter or even George Bush Senior. You would actually have to do some research to come to a reasonable conclusion.

    Both parties overspend and weaken the strength of our lower/middle class.

    • July 29, 2010 at 1:15 am

      Touche, my learned friend. But do you honestly think that just a few courses on politics would give me enough of an understanding of how things really work to grasp the complexity in your nuanced assertion of the absolute equality of all democrats and republicans on the economy? Would I have to take different courses on economics to understand just how it is that government overspending is the problem for people in the lower and middle class? Gosh, that would be neat.

      C’mon, dude. Lighten up. I’ll do research when I need to publish an essay in a peer reviewed journal. I blog about politics when the absolute gobsmacking idiocy of whatever republican happens to be televised at the moment drives me into a beserker frenzy of typing and swearing. It all goes dark for me then. I lose control and the rant takes over. I think it was John Boehner who pushed me over the edge this time, though it might have been Michelle Bachmann or Newt Gingrich. I’m having trouble telling my idiotic republicans apart these days.

      Anyway, I think you’re wrong. I think it’s more than foolish to suggest that there’s no difference between the parties, as you do. I think your fundamental claim that overspending is the problem for the middle class or the lower class is either disingenuous, ignorant or just plain stupid. And I don’t think you need to study politics to know that every almost every republican who’s run for office since Reagan has claimed to believe that supply-side economics does something good, nor that they’ve been vigorously-to-nominally opposed on that issue by virtually every democrat who’s run for office over the same period of time. You just need to have been alive and paying attention, and I was. And, by the way, the RESEARCH I described and linked in my post – see, I remember some of that there college stuff, after all – supports the underlying assertion I’m making; to wit, that republicans are big doody-heads. I still think I’m right about that.


Leave a Reply

