16
Jun
10

A Bud for Bloomsday

“The odour of the sicksweet weed floats towards him in slow round ovalling wreathsSweet are the sweets. Sweets of sin.”  –James Joyce, Ulysses


"This is the flower in question."

As I’ve mentioned before, my partner has been experimenting with growing under under cfl’s.  Most people I’ve spoken with turn up their noses at the idea.  And yet, she brings me such pretty flowers…

"There is a flower that bloometh."

Flowers from the sugar mama?  Sugar Mama flowers, at least.

"...the pinky sugar I Id a couple of lbs of those a nice plant for the middle of the table Id get that cheaper in wait wheres this I saw them not long ago I love flowers Id love to have the whole place swimming in roses"

“O, it must be like the scent of geraniums and lovely peaches! O, he simply idolises every bit of her! Stuck together! Covered with kisses!”  Yeah, that covers it pretty well.  Growing is hard work, after all, and it’s important to keep the gardener happy.


"P. S. Do tell me what kind of perfume does your wife use. I want to know."

Happy Bloomsday.  People celebrate the holiday in all kinds of different ways.   Those fortunate unfortunates to be in Dublin walk the city as though following the stumbling guide from page to street to pub to home; the diehards will participate in marathon readings that fill up the day, giving voice to Joyce’s beautiful language the way it should be heard and leaving the readers voiceless and dry; most of my bookish drunkish friends will lift pints for as long as it might take to read through though not understand the whole…but I have flowers in bloom and will I have some yes please and good company to share my time and could you pass that again yes and trim for me are you sure you want it back yes and walk under the pines and the redwoods and should you put that away for a while and yes I said yes I will Yes.


5 Responses to “A Bud for Bloomsday”


  1. 1 Mr. Nice
    June 17, 2010 at 12:49 pm

    What strain is that?

  2. June 17, 2010 at 2:44 pm

    Grown from clones labeled “Sugar Mama.” I’ve heard it’s a cross of Blueberry X Big bud, but you know how that goes. Sticky and smells like heaven – in fact, the whole house smells amazing right now.

  3. 3 Mr. Nice
    June 20, 2010 at 8:21 am

    Must have been a club that labeled it for marketing.

    Back in the ’80s and ’90s, we used to call that strain Blueberry x Big Bud.

    Another head scratcher is how “Big Blue” is Northern Lights #5 x Blueberry instead of that. That Big Blue strain got named by a seed marketer years after it was invented too.

    I like that new short strain, “Whitaker Blue.” Quimby x Blueberry. I read on icmag that it was bred by “JD Short,” DJ Short’s son. DJ posted on icmag that he sells seeds in Arcata so it should be easy to get.

    • June 23, 2010 at 5:09 pm

      Club weed, indeed.

      Why Sugar Mama instead of Blueberry x Big Bud? And why not Bluebuddy or Big Blue, as far as that goes? I’ve said it before – I don’t understand why some names stick and others don’t. I like the idea of clarity or truth in naming, but I suspect that even the names that imply clarity are hiding something. Besides giving me a headache, looking at those strain maps of how we got from “original” Afghani strains to all the hybrid realities of today just convinces me that everything’s made up of little bits of everything else. I have enormous respect for the breeders who really know what they’re talking about when it comes to strains, but I’m pretty sure that’s a relatively small group of people. And it’s a group that sure doesn’t include me.

  4. 5 Mr. Nice
    June 23, 2010 at 7:11 pm

    I like Bigberry.


Leave a Reply

